Twelve Lyric Pieces
by Edvard Grieg (1843-1907)
42 minutes

by Richard Rijnvos (2017)

Given that Edvard Grieg left us with a rather modest amount of original compositions for orchestra, this brand new orchestral arrangement of his masterly short piano pieces offers a welcome change within the standard repertoire, as well as a new perspective on that in which he excelled: composing small gems of pure magic.

With one or two exceptions, most of these exquisite Lyric Pieces have not been arranged for full-size symphony orchestra before. Furthermore, out of the total collection of sixty-six, this selection of twelve has an extra dimension in that it passes through all tones of the circle of fifths.

Starting with the melancholic Melody in A minor, providing a prominent role for the cor anglais, we move on to the joyful Scherzo in E Minor from opus 54, followed by the Elegy in B minor. Next is F-sharp major, D-flat major, A-flat major, and so on, and so forth, until we reach full circle: the ever so festive Wedding Day in Troldhaugen, set in D major.

photo: Summer Night by the Beach (1902-1903)
by Edvard Munch (1863-1944)