Riflesso sulla scala


variazioni senza tema
for flute, viola & harp (2022-2023)
25 minutes | no.45

Riflesso sulla scala (‘reflection on the staircase/scale‘) is part of the Riflessi series, which consists exclusively of companion pieces: each Riflesso explores the same exceptional scoring of a classic from the last century. Riflesso sulla scala is a companion piece Sonate pour flûte, alto et harpe (1915) by Claude Debussy. It makes use of the same three instruments: flute, viola and harp.

The composition is a series of variations without a theme. Though these variations are not demarcated or numbered, there are about twenty-seven of them (3x3x3). The majority explore a musical pattern, whereas others reoccur over time in slightly different appearances.

Riflesso sulla scala was written for Ernestine Stoop as a retirement gift for her dedicated efforts as long-term harpist of ASKO|Schönberg.


flute, viola, harp

written for

Ernestine Stoop

composed with financial support from

Performing Arts Fund NL

dedicated to

Ernestine Stoop


27 May 2023
Muziekgebouw, Amsterdam (Netherlands)


Score Excerpts