Cycle | NYConcerto


for piano and chamber orchestra (2004-2006)
30 minutes | no.20+22+24

This 3-part concerto for piano and chamber orchestra, entitled NYConcerto (pronounce: 'New York Concerto'), arose as an assembly of the following pieces:

Each piece can be performed separately or as part of the entire cycle

Scoring of the Complete Cycle

pf solo-2.2.2(II=bcl).2-

Commissioned by


Written for

John Snijders & Netherlands Radio Chamber Philharmonic

Première of the Complete Cycle

24 March 2007
Concertgebouw Amsterdam (Netherlands)
John Snijders (piano)
Netherlands Radio Chamber Philharmonic
Stefan Asbury (conductor)


[...] His NYConcerto contains many jazz related references, and appeals immediately as one solid chunk of vitality, unparalleled in recent Dutch musical life. [...] NYConcerto went down extremely well with the audience of the Amsterdam Concertgebouw. The catching, Bernsteinesque elegance of the performance by the [Netherlands] Radio Chamber Philharmonic, conducted by Stefan Asbury, and the magnificent solo by John Snijders completed this feast. [...]

Roeland Hazendonk, De Telegraaf, 26 March 2007

[...] Serving as main course, as well as breathtaking finale, was Rijnvos's NYConcerto. The piano concerto in three movements is part of an evening-long New York cycle which has six movements in total. This promises to turn into quite something, as the amount of notes that were being jet-sprayed into the hall within thirty-five minutes was already overwhelming. [...]

Frits van der Waa, De Volkskrant, 26 March 2007

[...] In his intelligent way of quoting Rijnvos proves himself heir to Stravinsky. Gershwin, Ives, Monk: they all pass by, yet it is the composer himself who is clearly in control of the restlessly roaring urban vision. [...]

Jochem Valkenburg, NRC Handelsblad, 26 March 2007